PGIA - COLOMBO PROGRAM (2019/2020) BOARD OF STUDY FOOD SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

TIME TABLE

M.Sc. in Food Science & Technology

Date of Commencement: 06th June 2020.

First Semester						
	Weeks 1-8		Weeks 9-16			
	Saturday	Sunday	Saturday	Sunday		
8-12 am	FT 5103 Biochemistry (SW/NR)	ST 5204 Nonparametric Statistics (RA)	FT 5104 Food Chemistry (SW/TM)	FT 5105 Food Microbiology (TM/ NR)		
1 -5pm	FT 5155 Food Biotechnology (NR) FT 5199 Seminar (NR)	FT 5102 Food Physics (PC)	FT 5106 Food Preservation (RP)	FT 5111 Food Safety (TM)		

Second Semester							
	Weeks 1- 8		Weeks 9 - 16				
	Saturday	Sunday	Saturday	Sunday			
1-12 am	FT 5222 Food Process Eng. & Unit operations (SA/RP)	FT5224 Sensory Evaluation (PC)	FT 5213 Techniques in Research and Scientific Writing*(NR)	FT 5156 Food Regulation &Quality Management systems (PC)			
1-5pm	FT 5223 Food Analysis (SW)	FT 5157 Beverage Technology (PC)		FT 5211 Spice Processing Technology (PC)			

**FT 5204 Industrial Exposure - (one credit -Compulsory) Coordinated by Mr. P.C. Arampath

Credit requirements:

M.Sc. (Course work (CW), 1 year: 25 credits (compulsory & elective courses) & 5 credits -Directed study (FT5298) M.Sc. (CW & Research, 2 years): 30 credits (compulsory & elective courses) excluding Directed study (FT5298), and 30 credits research (one year)

All **compulsory courses** in **Bold font**; Common Courses in *italic font*

FT 5213 Techniques in Research and Scientific Writing* (Elective course)

M.Sc. (CW&R) students should complete FT5213, if you have not followed a similar course in your Basic degree and obtained Grade B above.

FT 5298: Directed Study: Students in 1st Semester are not eligible to enroll FT5298.

Duration - 2 semesters (maximum). (All Staff are involved, and the Coordinator: Secretary/BoS - FST).

Venue: KDU, Postgraduate Building, 4th floor (Lecturers will be conducted via online until reopen the PGIA) **Staff** (Abbreviation):

Dr. Niranjan Rajapakse (NR) Prof. Terrence Madhujith (TM) Prof. (Ms) Swarna Wimalasiri (SW) Prof. Sanath Amarathunga (SA) Dr. Rohitha Prasantha- (RP) Mr. P.C. Arampath (PC) Prof. R. Abeynayake (RA)

Chairperson: Prof. Swarna Wimalasiri (TP: 077-3569609). **Secretary:** Mr. P.C. Arampath (TP: 071-8481039) *01-06-2020*